Vanšu Brücke

Riga , Lettland
acb

Die Schrägseilbrücke Vanšu über den Fluss Daugava in Riga wurde am 21. Juli 1981 eingeweiht. Ursprünglich hieß sie Gorky-Brücke. Bis jetzt ist sie die Brücke mit der längsten Spannweite der Welt.
Die Brücke ist gemäß des ursprünglichen Projektplans nicht ganz fertiggestellt. Die Konstruktion wurde von finanziellen Problemen getroffen, weshalb mehrere Projektveränderungen durchgeführt wurden. Deshalb wurden nicht alle geplanten Ausfahrten und andere Verkehrsverbesserungen gebaut.
Aufgrund ihrer spektakulären Architektur wurde die Brücke zu einer beliebten Touristenattraktion. Gleichzeitig ist sie eines der wichtigsten Infrastrukturobjekte in Riga. Sie ermöglicht dem Straßentransport, Fahrradfahrern und Fußgängern die Überquerung des Flusses Daugava.
Die Vanšu-Brücke verlängert die Krišjānis Valdemārs Straße bis zur Kalnciema Straße. Auf der Seite von Pārdaugava, direkt neben der Brücke, befindet sich eines der spektakulärsten Gebäude der Stadt, Saules Akmens (Sonnenstein), das bis in den Himmel reicht und zusammen mit der Vanšu-Brücke eine tolle Kombination ergibt.
Auf der anderen Seite der Brücke wurde vor einigen Jahren der Ķīpsala-Strand erbaut. Der Strand wurde aus einer enormen Menge an Sand, der nach der Vertiefung der Bucht des Daugava-Flusses entstand, errichtet.

Land auswählen
Lettland
wählen Sie die Stadt
Riga

Report a mistake !

ACB

Vanšu Bridge – view from Riga Islande Hotel – Cyclone Thomas

Riga , Latvia
acb
Choose country
Latvia
Choose city
Riga

Report a mistake !

The cable-stayed bridge Vanšu Bridge over Daugava River in Riga was inaugurated on July 21 year 1981. It was originally called the Gorky Bridge. As of now it has the longest span of all bridges of its type in the world.

The bridge is not fully finished according to the original project plan. The construction was affected by financial problems, therefore, different changes in the project were made. Because of that, all of the planned exits and other traffic improvements were not constructed.

Because of its spectacular architecture, the bridge has become to be a popular tourist attraction point. At the same time, it is one of the most important infrastructure object in Riga. It provides movement over Daugava River for road transport, cyclists and pedestrians.

Vanšu Bridge extends Krišjānis Valdemārs Street to reach Kalnciema Street. On the side of Pārdaugava, right next to the bridge, one of the most spectacular buildings in the city, Saules Akmens (Sun Stone), reaches up to the skies, creating a beautiful combination with Vanšu Bridge.

One the other side of the bridge, Ķīpsala beach was created a few years ago. The beach was created from the enormous amount of sand that was left behind after deepening the creek of Daugava River.

Powerful cyclone Thomas has reached Latvia and brought with it torrential rains and a gusty wind. Many rivers have left the banks and there is a risk of flooding!
The Latvian Center for Environment, Geology and Meteorology announced an orange warning. Watch the situation on our on-line live cameras!